A PROJECT OF BERKS COUNTY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

TRINITY EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH
527 Washington Street
Reading, PA 19601
610.374.4861
History:
​
Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church was formally organized in 1751. In 1752, they built their first log church. In 1794, they replaced this structure with a two story brick church and dedicated this building on Trinity Sunday. During this time, there was a bell tower but no steeple. The church also was Georgian with some Victorian elements.
The first steeple was completed in 1833 and was 202 feet tall, ranking the church as the tallest structure in Pennsylvania at the time. However in 1933, the steeple was destroyed by a tornado and was not rebuilt in its original form until 1963. During the 1960s, Trinity’s design consisted of some Romanesque façade features, but was later renovated to have a colonial style.
​
Within the structure, there are a multitude of rooms including large meeting spaces, an annex, a sanctuary, small meeting rooms, and a kitchen. Within the sanctuary, the church has beautiful Tiffany stained glass windows. These windows are layered with glass showcasing a variety of colors and textures. They were developed by famous artisan Louis Tiffany.
​
Congregation/Space:
​
Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church is a congregation proud and knowledgeable of its history. They ensure that their church is maintained in pristine condition.
​
Programs:
The congregation has many valued programs that are run on the property and support other programs that are carried out elsewhere. They partner with other organizations, such as the Literacy Council of Reading and Berks, the Reading Symphony Orchestra, and the Reading Mental Health Alliance. Moreover, they offer additional services to community members when needed or upon request.
TRINITY LUTHERAN CHURCH GALLERY


Bard House, directly across the courtyard from the church

Connection between church and annex












A room that was used for Trinity's broadcasts